Crimson Pride

Isaac Gorgy, Editor-in-Chief

Each year, the Heisman Trophy is awarded to the most outstanding college football player in the United States. Alabama’s running back, Derrick Henry, was crowned the 81st Heisman Trophy winner on Saturday night. His incredible season earned him college football’s most-prestigious individual award, over finalists Deshaun Watson and Christian McCaffrey.

Henry is only the second Alabama player to receive a Heisman. This season, he rushed for an SEC-record 1,986 yards and scored 23 touchdowns, leading the nation in both of those categories ( Henry scored in every single game he’s played this season leading the Alabama Crimson Tide into the College Football Playoff.

After receiving the trophy, the junior expressed his gratitude in an espn interview: “I’m just so thankful to have this trophy. It’s just a blessing and an honor.” The Heisman winner credits his success to his offensive line. He invited them to dinner after Wednesday’s practice to thank them for their efforts.

Henry finished with 1,832 points followed by Stanford running back Christian MsCaffrey’s 1,539 points and Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson’s 1,165 ( Although he was the favorite coming in, Henry didn’t underestimate the caliber of his opponents: “Them two guys were great contenders for the trophy. Deshaun, with how consistent and efficient he is at the quarterback position, all the success he had, I was kind of worried.”

The 2015 Heisman winner accounted for more than a third of Alabama’s total yardage this season and will lead the Crimson Tide into its semifinal match-up against Michigan State on New Year’s Eve at the Cotton Bowl.