The Five Different Love Languages

Silina Abdelmaseh, Writer

There are 5 different love languages in humans. The 5 love languages include physical touch, words of affirmation, giving or receiving gifts, acts of service, and quality time. Different people like to receive love in specific ways and prefer to show their love in specific ways. People can have multiple love languages, and it isn’t always the basic hug people think everyone likes. Some people might like to be told kind words, others like receiving gifts, and so much more.


Physical Touch

Someone with a physical touch love language would show their love using their body. Someone can show their physical touch in many different ways. This can look like hugs, fist bumps, cuddles, hand holding.


Words of Affirmation

A person who shows their love through words of affirmation enjoys complimenting and praising people. It could be as simple as “good job” or “I love you so much”. It can be as simple or as expressive as the speaker views appropriate.


Giving/Receiving Gifts

Someone who has this love language enjoys being shown that they are loved and cared for by being given gifts. They also like to show their own love to others by giving gifts that they know that their specific person is going to enjoy.


Acts of Service

A lot of people, like our parents, like to show their love through acts of service. People can show their love by cooking a meal, cleaning someone else’s living space, washing dishes or laundry.


Quality Time

Quality time is a lot of people’s love language. Quality time can be as simple as texting, calling, FaceTiming, or simply just hanging out with their loved ones.

For a relationship to thrive, not only do you have to be sure to fulfill your partner’s love languages, you have to fulfill all of the love languages. You should be hugging your loved one, praising them, buying them gifts, spending time with them, and doing favors for them.



It is also possible to fulfill multiple love languages with a single gesture. Here are some ideas and scenarios that you can use with your friend, partner, or family member.

Imagine this: your friend tells you that they have been really craving chocolate covered strawberries. Before the next time you know you’re going to see them, you can go out, either buy already made chocolate covered strawberries, or make them yourself. This action is both gift giving and an act of service because you just gave your friend a gift that fulfills that craving.

You and your partner are hanging out late at night. The both of you have been laughing and talking together and just enjoying each other’s company. At the end of your time, you decide to compliment your partner and tell them that you are so happy you met them and have always enjoyed your time together. And just like that, you just fulfilled your partner’s quality time and words of affirmation love languages.

Picture a case where a family member whose love languages are physical touch, quality time, and words of affirmations, who is going through a rough time. You can hug them and remind them that they are strong and that they can get through anything. Hugging them relieves their need for physical touch, telling them kind things satisfies their need for words of affirmations, and this overall fulfills their love for quality time.


If you are interested in finding out what your love language is, try this quiz!!